Five Brits in 2019 Vuelta

The 2019 edition of the Vuelta a España gets underway on Saturday with an 18 km team time trial from Salinas de Torrevieja to Torrevieja.

Team Ineos have announced their eight man squad for the race, with Spaniard David de la Cruz coming in as a last minute replacement for Kenny Elissonde after the Frenchman had initially been named in the line up.

The squad is as follows: Owain Doull (GBR), David de la Cruz (ESP), Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR), Sebastián Henao (COL), Vasil Kiryienka (BLR), Wout Poels (NED), Salvatore Puccio (ITA), Ian Stannard (GBR).

In addition to the three with Team Ineos, there will be another couple of British riders on the start line in the shape of climber Hugh Carthy of EF Education First and James Knox of Deceuninck–Quick-Step.

Three former winners will contest the Vuelta this year. They are Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana of Movistar and Fabio Aru of UAE Team Emirates. Steven Kruijswijk and Primož Roglič of Team Jumbo-Visma and Miguel Ángel López and Jakob Fuglsang of Astana are the other big names who are likely to contest the general classification.